Plans For my Edit

This week has been quite uneventful on the story front, as I had an essay due. However, I did spend some time reading over Verica’s comments and brainstorming ideas on how to make it better. So, for this post I thought that I would discuss where I felt I needed to improve and how I plan to do this

Genre: My story did not really have a genre, and as a result it lacked direction. I had tried to make it a little bit informative and a little bit human interest, when really I needed to have one or the other. To combat this I am going to cut out some of the unnecessary facts and replace them with quotes from locals. This will hopefully steer the story to more of a ‘human-interest’ standpoint.

Data analysis: It was noted by Verica that I did not have enough information about the zones at NorthWest. One of my downfalls when collecting data is that I am unable to analyse it and correctly distinguish which sections of information are the most important. So while I edit I am going to pay extra attention to the information I have, and evaluate if it is necessary. Once I have made that judgement I will add extra depth to the data I am going to use.

Hierarchy of influences: I feel as though my opinion did slightly influence the way in which the piece was written. For example, the only quote I included with reference to opinion on Hobsonville Point was quite negative. I think this was an unconscious decision fuelled by my annoyance at the house prices and lack of yard space. I am going to try and add a positive quote to balance this out.

http-::www.xigo.co.nz:wp-content:uploads:2015:05:Northwest

So those were my musings for this week. I hope that you enjoyed reading and have a wonderful day.

P.s. NorthWest opens on the 1st of October! I hope to attend and talk to locals about the opening.

Leave a comment